Stinky Manure!

I have recently planted some nasturtium seeds in my garden and this morning I was pleased to see the first signs of growth as small seedlings have started to appear, hopefully these will grow on so that later in the Summer I will have a wonderful display when their flowers appear.

When I planted my nasturtium seeds, I had to wait for them to go through a transformation. How long would this take? I did not know the exact timing. What exactly occurs in the darkness of the soil? I did not know, and would anything grow from the seed? I did not know that, either. As a matter of fact, as I know so well, I could try my best to nurture the seeds by watering, feeding and tending to them passionately, but sometimes nothing grows at all, but that doesn’t stop me and I plant them anyway.

If you think about it planting is a wonderful metaphor for our spiritual journey and spiritual growth. When we first come to know God, it probably is because someone has planted the seed in us. We go to church to worship and listen to the messages and slowly understand the Word and the Way and in a sense the nurturing takes place. Eventually, some may be moved to accept God, whereas some may not. How long will this transformation take place? We do not know.

When the seed is buried in the soil, it dwells in the darkness. While in the darkness, it absorbs the nutrients from the fertilizers in the soil and goes through transformation. Our life journey can be the same. Sometimes it is when we feel buried in dark moments, surrounded by stinky manure, that we are actually receiving God’s gracious blessings in our life. However, we may become afraid and reject the presence of God. Then we get choked by the darkness and the smelly environment and no spiritual growth occurs. By accepting the grace of God, we go through transformation and have new life. Eventually, the plant inside the seed will break through the soil and sprout into a small plant, grows leaves, flowers, then fruits. Endure the dark moments; a new life will come out of it.

So, do not be afraid of dark moments, of the stinky manure. Keep the faith, for God has a plan for God’s creation of which we are all a part, and when we do it is then that we will indeed be transformed.